Flu fighting broccoli pasta

Phew. I wonder where the week went. There’s part of me that never wanted to be that stressed, career woman that always complains about how ‘fuckingbusyandimportant’ she is.  I love the challenge of a fast paced job, but when it starts affecting my health, I can’t help but crave something a bit more simple.

I’m time poor, I’m not checking new music, I’m not listening to old music.  And I’m definitely not in the headspace to try out new recipes.

I feel run down and need greens. I take inspiration from a dish I ate at Giuseppe Arnaldo and Sons, a simple broccoli pasta dish where broccoli is pureed and becomes the sauce. Of course, it’s stupid o’clock after work. I turn to the Thermomix.  I also reach for a quick mixtape to try and soothe the soul. 

Recipe – Conchiglie pasta with broccoli sauce
Serves 4
wpid-IMG_20130301_084719.jpg

Ingredients
350g conchiglie pasta
4 large broccoli florets, roughly chopped
6 cloves of garlic
Large handful walnuts
Tsp dried chili flakes
2 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
A 4cm chunk of parmesan
2 cups chicken stock
Salt and pepper to taste
A touch of cream
More parmesan, to serve and a few basil leaves to garnish.

broccoli pastaMethod (for Thermomix)
Chop the garlic and walnuts, 3 seconds, speed 6. Add the olive oil, chilli flakes and parmesan chunk. Sautee at for 5 minutes, 100 degrees, speed 1.  Add the broccoli and stock. Cook for 25 minutes at 100 degrees, speed 2.

Boil up the water for the pasta and cook to instructions, drain.

By now, the broccoli should be very soft. Bringing the speed up from 1 to 9 slowly, blend for 30 seconds. Add salt, pepper and parmesan.

Add to the drained pasta with a touch of cream. Mix well. Garnish with more cracked pepper, basil and parmesan.

Method (OG style)
Chop garlic and walnuts finely.  Add the olive oil, chilli flakes and parmesan chunk and sautee in a deep pan or pot for 5 minutes. Add the broccoli and stock. Bring to the boil, simmer and cook for 35 minutes.
Boil up the water for the pasta and cook to instructions, drain.

By now, the broccoli should be very soft. Transfer to a blender and blend until smooth. Add salt, pepper and parmesan.

Add to the drained pasta with a touch of cream. Mix well. Garnish with more cracked pepper, basil and parmesan.

Leave a Reply

